Marriage License Information

 
 
 
For your convenience, the following contains information that should help you in your plans as well as briefly explain what you must do prior to coming to this office to make your application.
Question
Answer
Where to Apply
County Clerk's Office room 108, Courthouse, Viroqua. 608-637-5380
Hours
We ask that you come in between 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. as the application process takes about 30 minutes. Regular office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday. Courthouse is closed on Saturday, Sunday, and legal holidays.
When to Apply
Upon making application, a 5-day waiting period is required before license may be issued, excluding the day of application.

It is recommended that you come in 2-4 weeks ahead of wedding date because of the 5 day waiting period. License is good for 30 days from that fifth day.

Special Dispensation
Although a 5-day waiting period is required by law, this may be waived for a good cause by the County Clerk for a fee of $10.00. The license is good for 30 days from issuance date. There is a six month waiting period for remarriage after granting of divorce judgment.
Age
Persons are of age to marry without parental consent at age 18. Between 16 and 18 years of age, you are required to submit signed consent forms of both parents or guardians at time of, or prior to, application. Both parents should be present at time of application.
Fee

The fee for the marriage license is $70.00 in Vernon County. Prices may differ slightly in some counties.

Procedure for Vernon County Residents
 
  1. Both parties must be present at the time of application at the County Clerk’s office.
  2. One party must be a resident of Vernon County for at least 30 days prior to the date of the application (Unless coming from out of state) and the marriage must be in Wisconsin.
  3. Residents of Wisconsin must apply for a marriage license before the County Clerk in the county in which they reside. The couple may then be married in any county in Wisconsin.
  4. Both parties must furnish:
        • Certified birth certificates-Must contain the official seal and signature of the County Register of Deeds (a hospital record does not qualify).
        • Driver’s licenses
        • Proof of Residency
        • Social Security numbers, card not required.
        • If there has been any previous marriages, Death Certificates, Judgment of Divorce (with judge’s signature), or Civil Annulment papers (with judge’s signature) including dates.
        • Name, address, and phone number of Officiant.
        • Date and place of intended marriage (City, Town or Village and County)
        • Years of education.
        • Cost is $70 (Waiver fee is an additional $10). Checks or cash are accepted as form of payment.
      • Out of Country Applicants: Copies of birth certificates or divorce papers must be in English or translated to English by a government office. This translation must be notarized.  
Procedure for Out of State Residents:
The procedure for two out of state residents is the same as for state residents except that the marriage license must be obtained in the county in which the couple plans to be married.